Book Review: Slow Regard Of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

Genre: Fantasy
Series: The Kingkiller Chronicle
Author Info: http://www.patrickrothfuss.com/

Review for the first book
Review for the second book

This is a little novella, showing us a week of Auri’s live in the Underthing along with her strange relationship with nooks and crevices of it and the inanimate objects there. I got a bit bored after fifty pages but I was able to finish the book. I must say it took me half the time it took to read the monstrous 1000 page The Wise Man’s Fear, and this book is not even 100 pages. This is not to say it’s bad, it’s just not an action packed page turner.

The most action we see is Auri making soaps and a candle. There isn’t even a need to give a spoiler warning at this point, since it’s not about what happens and what’s in the book, but rather how it’s told. Rothfuss writes beautiful and poetic prose and I think no one is going to disagree with me about that. This story is not for everyone, however. It is different, it breaks every writing rule out there, yet it’s something I really enjoyed reading, although like I said it got boring in some parts.

I also got annoyed with Auri’s immense OCD and I am curious how she got so cracked in the head. I can’t help but feel sad for her. I’m a bit OCD myself, but gods, she went off the deep end for sure. The author’s words in the end by Rothfuss explains the birth of this story and how he decided to publish it, and that is quite touching and inspiring for an author. I was having issues about breaking a few writing rules in my own book but I felt much more confident after reading that part. So, I have to recommend this book to all aspiring authors, not only for the story itself but also the priceless wisdom Rothfuss was kind enough to share in the end of it.

In the end of the day, it’s a nice little book to read. It doesn’t progress Kvothe’s storyline, but it shows a glimpse of the Underthing and you get to see inside Auri’s head and her feelings for Kvothe.

Rating: 4/5 Roman Solidus

solidussolidussolidussolidus

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Slow Regard Of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. Such a lot of divided opinion on this one. Fortunately I went into it forewarned as oppose to thinking it would move the story along or reveal something special so really liked it. It’s more like a little snippet of time during Auri’s life – like a diary excerpt! The writing is beautiful though and the book is so beautiful.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really hope he writes an Elodin novella at some point whole we are waiting for The Doors of Stone. Not saying cause I have a big crush on Elodin, but he’s the other ‘cracked’ character at the University other than Auri and deserves his own book.

      Like

  2. My feelings exactly on this book, and yes to an Elodin story! He did write that short piece featuring Bast in the “Rogues” anthology; it didn’t shed much light on his past, but perhaps we can collectively persuade him to do something similar for Elodin? Also, I did come away from “The Slow Regard…” with a strong feeling that I should really learn to make soap. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, maybe we can persuade him into it! I heard about the Bast story but haven’t had a chance to read the anthology, in fact there are stories by other authors I want to read, I need to get my hands on that soon!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books I’ve Read in 2015 So Far | Leona's Blog of Shadows

Chime in!

