My Writing Soundtrack – Part 4

Here comes the long awaited part 4 of my writing soundtrack -after an awfully long time! Sorry about that- featuring some gems from Faun as well as more game soundtracks and instrumental collections.

Part 1 can be seen here.

Part 2 can be seen here.

Part 3 can be seen here.

Steampunk & Victorian Music Collection

Lindsey Stirling – Dragon Age

I’m a big fan of Lindsey Stirling’s music, it got me through awfully boring night shifts for months back int the day. This is from her official channel, I ordered some songs from her new album from itunes and I highly recommend checking it out. She makes amazing melodic songs which make great background music for writing sessions.

Faun- Ne Aludj El

I wrote many a chapter with this haunting Hungarian song in the background.

Faun – Arcadia

One of my all-time favorites, this Faun song is in Finnish, the lyrics are a poem from the Kanteletar, the lesser known collection of Finnish folk poems (Kalevala is the famous one.) The poem talks about a golden woodland king, which reminds me of Thranduil, which might as well be Tolkien’s inspiration for the character. The way he’s described in Hobbit is somewhat similar to this poem. Tolkien has drawn quite a bit of elements from the Kalevala, it would be no surprise if he was inspired by the Kanteletar also. Anyway, I love this song, it’s flamin’ great.

Faun – Königin

Faun – Egil Saga

Faun – Lupercalia

This one’s lyrics are from an Ovid poem, describing Pan. Ovid was one of the three canonical poets of Latin literature and this song lead me to grabbing a copy of the book, Fastorum Libri Sex, where this poem is taken from.

In the song/poem Pan runs downhill naked, followed by his ministers, in spirit of Lupercalia. At least that’s what I understood 🙂 Here is the Google Books link (scroll a bit for the English translation) for the curious.

Medieval II: Total War – Teutonic Campaign Soundtrack

Medieval Orthodox Byzantine Chants

This will sound weird, but I listen to Byzantine Orthodox chants for getting in the mood for certain parts of the story. It’s heavily inspired by the medieval Byzantine culture and they have produced some of the best religious music of the era. I am not a Christian, but I love the Orthodox chants.They are quite haunting and puts me in that certain atmosphere.

Ancient Greek Music: Spirit of Socrates

This one has some reconstructed (from archaelogical findings) and original music featuring ancient Greek instruments. Pretty darn cool stuff.

5 thoughts on “My Writing Soundtrack – Part 4

Chime in!

