My Writing Soundtrack – Part 3

Here comes the long awaited part 3 of my writing soundtrack with featuring even more eclectic goodies.

Part 1 can be seen here.

Part 2 can be seen here.
 

Rolandskvadet Harald Foss version

I featured the Medieval Trio version of this great medieval classic, but my personal favorite is the longer version performed by Harald Foss.

2 Hours of Fantasy Music by Derek Fiechter

I discovered this amazing indie gem on /r/Fantasy subreddit and it has been one of my favorite all day loop pieces for some time now. Created by a very talented indie musician, this sweet instrumental collection has all kinds of fantasy themes (each track featuring a beautiful fantasy art piece) including forest fairies, elves, pirates, dwarves and mermaids. I highly recommend this, well it’s not exactly suitable for writing grimdark but I did write some gritty scenes while listening to it. I can’t recommend this artist enough! He has several albums on iTunes and also a spotify channel. I’m planning to buy all of his albums since the songs here are such great inspiration for my writing, I could definitely use more great tracks.

2-Hours Epic Music Mix by various artists

This is a big compilation of instrumental cinematic music. It fits all kinds of fantasy themes, especially epic fantasy but not so much grimdark. I have this on loop quite often.

Acherontic Dawn – Defending Gaia

Great piece of battle and action scenes. One of my all time favorites of this genre.

Colossal Trailer Music – Memoria Invictus

This album is full of heroic and epic stuff, one of the best writing background tracks ever.

Cybertribe -Cry Of The Earth

How I discovered this one is rather funny. When I was on vacation with my metalhead BFF, we went to this badass cafe one night on this mountain village in the Aegean coast of Turkey and they were playing this song and the other one below. She totally fell in love with the songs and asked what they were called and who the artist was. It was sone random radio stream, the owner had no clue at all, so my BFF pulled all kinds of apps and found the songs. This and the below track have been our vacation music ever since. She drops the youtube links when the winter becomes unbearable, as a reminder and flashback trigger for the nice summer days.

WATERBONE – TIBET – AUGUST MOON

Same as above 🙂

Seikilos Epitaph – Song of Seikilos

This beauty is an ancient Greek song, the oldest surviving example of a complete musical composition. It’s about 2000 years old. The notes and the lyrics have been excavated on an ancient Greek burial in the Aegean region of Turkey. The following text was carved on the tombstone:

I am a tombstone, an icon. Seikilos placed me here as an everlasting sign of deathless remembrance.

Translation of the lyrics:

While you live, shine
Don’t suffer anything at all;
Life exists only a short while
And time demands its toll.

Ancient Roman Music by Musica Romana – Pugnate II

This is a double track featuring “Risus Sativus” and “Hymnus Dianae” from Pugnate album. This is apparently what ancient Roman music sounds like and I love it. The whole album is one of my regular ‘put it on the loop and write’ things.

2 thoughts on “My Writing Soundtrack – Part 3

  1. Leona, my dear friend, thank you for being here for me in this trying time, and for sharing such eclectic music! I have not had a chance to sample any of it, but I’m definitely going to bookmark it. Happy reading and writing! ((((Hugs)))))

    Liked by 1 person

Chime in!

