Book Review: Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie

Last Argument of Kings
Genre: Dark Fantasy/Grimdark
Series: The First Law
Author info: http://www.joeabercrombie.com/

This is the third and last book of The First Law Trilogy, check my reviews for book #1 and book #2.

This book, as I expected, was much like the final glory part of a majestic fireworks show. The roller-coaster ride didn’t ease up the least bit with its wild twist and turns, leaving me a bit dizzy in the end. That pretty much sums it up.

I have seen folk mentioning ‘too modern phrases’ in criticism of the series, but the amazing character ridden plot threads, sharp dialogues and the superb action scenes make it very hard to notice, and even then, I didn’t care at all cause the story and the characters are that badass.

The plot twists are so cleverly done that I saw none of them coming. I didn’t even have the tiniest hint of suspicion about quite a few. The characters, even though grow and change, end up back to square one in many aspects, but it’s so amazingly well done it doesn’t quite feel like it at first. I might be starting to sound a bit cryptic, but that’s about the best way I can describe it without stepping into spoiler territory.

Glokta continues to shine and kick butt as usual, so does Logen Ninefingers. But Bloody-Nine is ever scarier and we get to glimpse the soulless nature of that one. Blood-chilling stuff, not for the faint of heart. Neither are Glokta’s cruel, necessary evil torture scenes. Say what you will about Glokta but he’s one clever and practical dude. After all, you gotta be realistic about those things.

We get to spend more fun time with the Northern men and Logen, who goes back there to join them in the fight with Bethod. Collem West is also there, pulling some kickass tricks and saving the day each time. West became one of my favorite characters in the whole series, and he’s the only genuine good guy here without massive flaws.

I found the fighting scenes of the Northern gang in the mountain fortress a bit dragging but things got interesting before it bored me too much so I can’t really complain. It’s just that I don’t care much about the endless hack and slash and hand to hand combat scenes dragging on.

I must admit, the rather unfair and awful situations some of the characters ended up in put a tear or two in my eye. The moral of the story here is that life is a bitch and no one gets what they deserve. This is perhaps why this series is incredibly realistic.

In the end, none of the messed up characters are able to truly get away from who they really are. None, other than one certain character who turns out to be a horrible villain, and Ferro. Cause Ferro doesn’t give a rat’s ass about anything other than her vengeance, which she embraces gladly.

As an experienced grimdark reader, I was expecting a total bloodbath and relentless character slaughter leading to a depressing ending, but the ending of The First Law is not nearly as grimdark and tragic as I expected. It’s a much nicer ending than Harry Potter, I daresay.

All in all, this book completed the splendid job of upending every single epic fantasy trope out there and then some. Glokta has taken his place as one of the unforgettable characters of the fantasy genre in my personal hall of fame along with Ferro.

I am so going to re-read this series. If you are into character driven stories and delightfully complex characters, you will be a fan. Go order a copy, you will thank me later.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Last Argument of Kings by Joe Abercrombie

  1. This books who incredibly good. The first book two books were good, but this one was still leaps and bounds better than, and than nearly ever books after it. I still can’t get over all the endings for each of the characters… If there is one things I learned from this series it’s this: life isn’t fair, and you don’t always get what you deserve.

    Liked by 2 people

Chime in!

