Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays meme is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and this week’s theme is the top ten authors. Here is my list, in no particular order:

1. J.K. Rowling (7 books) I re-read each Harry Potter book 3 times.

2. Amin Maalouf (5 books) I read mostly fantasy these days (more like for the last decade) but I used to read a lot of literary fiction back in the day and I’ve always been a huge fan of Amin Maalouf. His magical historical novels are the next best thing to fantasy.

3. Mark Lawrence (4 books) Discovered last year, he quickly became one of my top 3 favorite fantasy authors. I’ll read the 5th book pretty soon! Mark Lawrence is the master of dark fantasy with wicked humor.

4. J.R.R. Tolkien (6 books)  The father of fantasy. I started reading fantasy with The Hobbit and The Silmarillion inspired me to start writing. I wouldn’t seriously start writing if it weren’t for The Silmarillion. I also ended up moving to Finland, after I found out Tolkien was greatly inspired by Finland and Finnish mythology, which got me curious about Finland, one thing followed another and here I am, living in Finland and getting ready to send the manuscript of my first book to my publisher.

5. R. Scott Bakker (3 books) I have read The Prince of Nothing series and bought the first 2 books of the Aspect-Emperor. He’s the king of grimdark, can’t praise his work enough. Go read my reviews and see for yourself 🙂

6. Raymond E. Feist (12 books) Huge fan of the Riftwar world, I think Raymond E. Feist has written the first heist stories in the fantasy genre. Riftwar books will always have a special place in my heart.

7. R.A. Salvatore (6 books) Gotta love Drizzt. I have more than a dozen of the Forgotten Realms books by R.A. Salvatore but I’ve read 6 of them so far. Planning to read those awesome books featuring Artemis Entreri and Jarlaxle, too.

8-9. Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman (3 books)  Since the Dragonlance Chronicles are written by these two authors, I’m grouping it as 2 list items. I’ve read those books a bit too late in life but it’s never too late. Can’t wait to read their other works as well as the solo works by Margaret Weis.

10. George R.R. Martin (5 books) A Song of Ice and Fire is the series that got me into grimdark. I used to avoid gritty, dark stuff before reading that masterpiece. It also influenced me (along with Mark Lawrence) to write grimdark.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

    • I look forward to reading your reviews of them!

      Amin Maalouf sounds AMAZING, definitely an author I can see myself becoming passionate about. What are the five “magical historical novels” you were referring to..?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Leo Africanus (the first Amin Maalouf book I read… Such an amazing read!) , Samarkand, Crusades Through Arab Eyes, Ports of Call, The Rock of Tanios. All of them are so awesome. Samarkand is particularly great cause a big chunk of it is about Hasan Sabbah and the assassins of Alamut.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Then there are so many books by those same authors I’m yet to read…. And my own book I need to deliver to my publisher by Dec 1st. Where is the time! If we had 36 hour days I’d read a lot more for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I read each book in 2 days or so, loved them, the same with Riftwar Saga and Amin Maalouf too. Planning to re-read all the Mark Lawrence books too. As for Amin Maalouf: I’d say start with Leo Africanus, if you totally love that one you will want to read all the rest. Samarkand is a killer too. There’s the Alamut assassins in it, the origins of the whole assassin cult business!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I will start with Leo Africanus, then. Thank you for the list of his books. I TBR’d a couple of those mentioned, but not all.:)

      By thee way, I could agree more about The Riftwar Saga.

      Like

  1. Great list. I tried to change mine this time (as you’ve seen). I find that my most read authors are usually authors who’ve written long series – and I’ve stuck with – mainly because I had no idea that the series would become so long! Funnily, now I think of it, I guess I’ve read quite a lot of Holly Black’s books – I forgot to add her. The other authors I’ve read a lot of are books from my earlier years where I read a lot of Austen, Brontes, DuMaurier.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Chime in!

