Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I Haven’t Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesdays meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and this week’s theme is the hyped books I haven’t read. Some of them are simply not my cup of tea and some others are behind the more important titles in my TBR stack. I prefer to read books fitting my tastes, and I add the popular books to my TBR if they are fantasy and keep popping on the book blogs I rather like and trust.

So here goes my top ten :

1. The 50 Shades series by E.L. James: 50 Shades of Grey and Grey are the most hyped books of the decade and I will never, ever read any of them. Judging from the excerpts I have seen floating around in the social media, I don’t think I can stomach such horrible writing.

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: The most hyped stuff along with the 50 Shades. I’ve seen the first movie and it didn’t impress me at all. I know the movies are nothing like the books but neither the story not the characters weren’t my cup of tea.

3. The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer: I watched the first 3 movies of it (dragged by friends & relatives) the only thing I liked were the fighting scenes and the Native American culture. Love triangle was a main plot element and I hate love triangles. The main characters are far from interesting so it’s not my thing at all. I barely tolerated the movies, I certainly won’t read the books. Funny thing is, a lot of the Twilight fans are also Harry Potter fans, and I’m a huge fan of Harry Potter, yet I found Twilight dull and boring.

4. Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer: I see this on a lot of book blogs, and not just the YA blogs. It’s a retelling of Cinderella where Cinderella is a cyborg. I’m a lover of medieval fantasy and grimdark but I don’t mind well written, non-cliche YA every now and then. Futuristic scifi stuff is not really my cup of tea but the reviews are positive and the concept is interesting enough, I added it to my TBR list anyway.

5. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: This one also shows up in all kinds of book blogs. I am not a fan of YA fantasy cause most YA fantasy revolves around love triangles and love triangles irritate me to death. But this book is about assassins and has political intrigue, so I think I can overlook the love triangle aspect and decided to give it a shot. I probably won’t get to it this year, though.

6. The Young Elites by Marie Lu: This is another YA book I saw a lot of book blogs praise. I’ve heard a lot of good things about it and even the super picky reddit /r/fantasy guys speak highly of it so I
added it to my TBR list.

7. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare: I saw the first movie and it didn’t quite motivate me to read the books. The love triangle is annoying, the story isn’t bad but I just wasn’t too impressed with the characters.

8. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard: This is hyped to death on book blogs, there are a lot of mixed reviews. A lot of reviewers complain about the characters lacking depth and complexity so I will probably pass.

9. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa: Another series I’ve seen popping around, many bloggers whose tastes I trust gave it high praise but some others found it ‘meh’. The story sounds quite intriguing, however, so I added it to my TBR but it will be quite some time before I get to it.

10. Divergent series by Veronica Roth: This also shows up in every book blog, sounds too modern and too much like The Hunger Games, I probably won’t read it unless someone convinces me I’m missing out by not reading it.

Verdict: Not a fan of YA, except Harry Potter. And I hate love triangles. Did I mention I hate love triangles? I need to follow more grimdark blogs but alas, there are not too many of them around. Any grimdark/medieval fantasy lovers out there, give me a holler so I follow your blogs!

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I Haven’t Read

  1. Your list was pretty good, though I’ve never heard of some of them and I would insert the Game of Thrones sequence, which is worthy of a top 10 all its own. Hyped to the point of boredom, and not something I’m going to dip a toe into at this point.

    Like

    • I’ve read all of the Game of Thrones books, and all the teaser chapters of book 6. I really liked the books and the complex, grey characters, so I made an exception to my anti-hype thing and didn’t regret it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Hyped Books I Haven’t Read | Writer's Resource Blog

  3. If you haven’t already, I would encourage you to check out the Banned and the Banished books by James Clemens. They are definitely on the darker side of fantasy, but while the imagery at times made my skin crawl, I couldn’t put a single book in the series down.

    Like

  4. I hated the Hunger Games, but loved the first Divergent (haven’t continued so far). The Young Elites was boring as well as the Iron Fey series. Cinder and The Mortal Instruments series were ok, but not as good as you would think considering all the hype.
    I will never read 50 shades. Great picks!
    My TTT

    Like

    • I have a whole list of shame ‘the famous fantasy classics I never got around to reading’, but I’m working on fixing that, one book at a time!

      Like

  5. I confess I’ve read a few off here – what can I say! Sometimes I just get attracted by the bright and shiny things! Then I just go back to my dark and bloody books! Love triangles though!!! ARRRRRRGGGGGHHHH. I could strangle whoever invented love triangles! Joyfully strangle them.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • Love triangles give me a rash! Some day I might write a love triangle (or rectangle!) which ends in a happy polyamory relationship, just to protest this annoying love triangle trope.

      Bright and shiny covers are my weakness too, resulting in 900+ books in my Goodreads to-read shelf.

      Like

    • Love triangles are definitely my pet hate. I just don’t see the need! And it seems like most bloggers I know feel the same way so why do authors keep sticking to that bad old trope! Stop! Just please. Grrrrr…
      Lynn 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • The worst part about it is that the whole love triangle cliche became a trademark of the YA fantasy. People make faces when they hear the mention of YA fantasy, because the common stereotype is YA fantasy=love triangle main plot, it creates a negative view. I read plenty of literary YA fiction, I love Harry Potter vut all the modern YA fantasy is centered around the yucky love triangle cliche (except Joe Abercrombie’s Shattered Sea) and the fantasy elements are just accessory. Oh I better shut up now ir I’ll rant about it till morning!

      Like

Chime in!

