March Book Haul

I am broke, and I mean penniless broke, so I can’t post a big stack of books for the book haul like some other book bloggers out there. But I also lack patience and didn’t want to wait until I could afford a big book haul while everyone in rss feeds is posting book hauls left, right and center.

So here we go:

those-above

Those Above by Daniel Polansky just got released a few days ago. I had to jump through hoops to buy that once since it’s not available in the US yet. I’m too broke to buy anything beyond food these days, since Loki’s €450 vet bill left me totally destitute this month. I’ll have bread, cheese and cereal for dinner for the next 2 weeks, but I still spared a few bucks to buy this one and I have only Daniel Polansky’s relentless self promotion to blame for it.

If he didn’t reply to so many of my tweets I would have waited 2 more weeks to buy this one, but I have such a soft spot for the big shot authors who interact with their readers like that. Oh and the Byzantine keyword in his reddit AMA had a big part in this impulse buying decision. The awesome reviews helped a bit, too. His hilarious Tweets had nothing to do with it, of course.

This one is from NetGalley:

catalain

Normally I don’t read this kind of fantasy (too modern, I strongly prefer medieval settings) but I found it randomly while browsing Netgalley and it sounded quite promising. Since I practice occult and witchcraft, it struck me as something I’d like to read. I hope I won’t be disappointed. I didn’t check any reviews or blog posts, picked it totally random.

The third book is a review copy of an unpublished book by a friend. It’s on its way to getting published, I have read 1/3 of the book so far and I can say it’s a stunning dark fantasy set in an exotic world with with amazingly intricate details. The characterization is very well done. The world building is on par with R. Scott Bakker. I’m quite excited to get a review copy of this book, it may well become the next big grimdark title. We will see. Unfortunately I can’t drop any names at this point, but I’m happy to read something this good! I am writing this for reserving the bragging rights for when it becomes the next hot thing.

3 thoughts on “March Book Haul

    • You can buy the Kindle version by swtching the country to UK on the kindle settings page at Amazon. If you don’t have Kindle, they will eventually release it to the US market.

      Like

Chime in!

