The Three Musketeers and Modern Fantasy

Food for thought for the fantasy writers out there…

Barbarian Book Club

The Three Musketeers and Modern Fantasy

three_musketeers_02

Taking a break from my traditional fare of Fantasy and Science Fiction I decided to jump in and read through Alexandre Dumas’ The Three Musketeers. For some reason I overlooked this novel in the past probably thinking that the plot was already spoiled due to all the spoofs and movies etc. I can’t even begin to describe how surprised I was when the book blew me away. Not only is it one of the best action adventures I have read but sets the bar so high for other books that I thought were original yet are surpassed by this fantastic piece of literature written 171 years ago. If you have not read this masterpiece do yourself a favor and pick it up, you will not be disappointed.

For readers of Fantasy one of the genre givens is that Tolkien’s The Lord of the…

View original post 1,117 more words

3 thoughts on “The Three Musketeers and Modern Fantasy

Chime in!

