Pinterest and Instagram for Writers (Yes. Really.)

Excellent tips on how to extend your social media presence and make use of Pinterest and Instagram for inspiration and marketing.

Live to Write - Write to Live

As much as I love language and believe in the magic of the written word, I must admit that we humans are innately visual creatures living in a visually driven era. From print magazines to television, film, and now social media, our world is consumed via highly visual mediums that use images to attract attention, convey information, and tell stories.

We writers can’t be blamed for being somewhat affronted by this state of affairs. For those of us who love to read and write, society’s general disdain for the written word can feel like a personal insult.  In my work as a copywriter and content marketer, I am often forced to concede that the best solutions require less text and more visuals. Brevity and the ability to marry words and images have become indispensible skills in today’s communication arts.

As a writer, you may resist embracing the visual. You…

View original post 975 more words

3 thoughts on “Pinterest and Instagram for Writers (Yes. Really.)

  1. I know a lot of writers who use Pinterest or Instagram. And while it helps round out one’s social media platform, it’s also important to recognize when we feel we’ve stretched ourselves too thin or are affecting our time doing other things (like writing). I already feel like I’ve got enough on my plate with the blog, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads. So I probably won’t join Instagram or Pinterest unless my free time… well, frees up some more.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    Love the name of your blog.

    In response to Sara’s comment, I agree 100%. We have to choose carefully where (and how ) we spend our time. I’m actually working on a post about just that – probably get it live next week.

    Like

    • It comes from the ‘Book of Shadows’, the spellbooks of witches. Thank you for the kind words! There is the famous 80-20 rule, you spend the most effort where you get the most return. I am trying to establish a presence in different kinds of social media platforms, and invest more time on those where I get more interactions and response.

      Like

Chime in!

