Book Review: The Thousandfold Thought By R. Scott Bakker

The Thousandfold Thought

Genre: Fantasy, Fantasy Dystopia, Dark Fantasy
Series: The Prince of Nothing
Author Info: http://www.rscottbakker.com blog: http://rsbakker.wordpress.com/

Warning: This review may have some minor spoilers.
Review for the first book.
Review for the second book.

The philosophical and intellectual aspects of this book are very impressive just like the first two books of the series. I really sympathized with Drusas Achamian, and while Kellhus dropped my jaw in the first two books, I couldn’t help but curse him in this one. The climax scene of Cnaüir was excellent just as I expected. Though the war scenes in Shimeh, especially those involving the sorcerers were unnecessarily long and even boring in a few places, but in general it is a great book.

The first two books made me expect ultimate glory for Shimeh and I must say I was a bit disappointed with the prolonged battle scenes. They were far too long and the constant switching of POV in repetitive scenes was confusing. Perhaps that is due to the fact that all of the characters involved in the Shimeh battle were the rather flat characters I didn’t connect with. The only parts I was excited about were the ones involving Conphas and Proyas, and that is because these characters were much deeper than the others involved. If the author had spent more effort on building up the grandmaster of the Scarlet Spires character, his scenes would interest me far deeper, I think.

I must say I am utterly disappointed with Conphas. I was expecting him to duke it out with someone rather than fizzle into the void like that. His escape in the second book was quite brilliant, so his arrival in this book turned out as flat as it can be. I also expected a more glorious arrival of the Padirajah’s heathen army, it was obscured by too much dust and debris.

Another thing that bothered me in this book is the repetition of the phrase ‘Death came swirling down’ one too many times. It’s repeated in the first two books too, but hardly noticeable. In this book it was just too many, like R.A. Salvatore’s whirlwind scimitars. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge fan of R.A. Salvatore, but repetitions really bother me for some reason. Now, after ranting about it, I hope I don’t fall into the same trap in my own books!

I especially enjoyed the dialogs involving Kellhus, Achamian and Möenghus. Those were really, really well done. The book has a very nice closing, but not everything gets wrapped up, leaving the door open for the subsequent series (The Aspect-Emperor) where the story continues. I am planning to read those after I finish reading the Kingkiller Chronicle series.

Rating: 4/5 Roman Solidus

solidussolidussolidussolidus

One thought on “Book Review: The Thousandfold Thought By R. Scott Bakker

  1. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. Many thanks|

    Like

Chime in!

